Four-Play (Week #4)

My blog experiment to feature a four track long musical set per week per post continues… this being the 4th installment of my projected 13-week run. If you’ve missed any of my past posts, they’re archived in my “music” category.

As for my latest musical selections, I’ve segued tracks showcasing sitar players.

Back in the Sixties, the Beatles, primarily, were responsible for introducing me to Eastern / Indian influenced rock and I’m providing some linked bonus tracks… Norwegian Wood and Within Without You… to demonstrate how well the Fab Four incorporated this amazing stringed instrument into their band’s musical repertoire. Other Sixties recording artists were also experimenting with this East / West fusion, namely Canned Heat’s On The Road Again (featuring the tambura drone) and Pop Singer B.J. Thomas’ Hooked On A Feeling (featuring the electric sitar).

Aside from what you’ve just read above, don’t expect any further in depth musical analysis because I present the selections you hear, here, purely for the enjoyment of great music.

I do realize that tapping into our world’s vast musical spectrum can oft involve genres, which cannot possibly please all the people all the time. Even so… I’d encourage folks to be musically adventurous. That said… if these selections still are not your “cup of tea”… do click back again… you never can tell what you’ll be listening to next week.

Blog response will act as my Arbitron / Nielsen “radio ratings”… so… if you’ve enjoyed my “show”, click that “Like” Star. Of course, comments are always welcome, too!

 

Anushka Shankar ~ Ragas (by Ravi Shankar)

Magic Sitar Hindi ~ Nothing But Spirit

Sitar Gaze (Reprise) Chillout Forever (Niladri Kumar)

Ashwin Batish ~ Bombay Boogie

 

 

