Four-Play (Week #6)

Welcome to the sixth installment of my musical blog’s 13-week experimental run. For those who’ve missed my past posts, they’re neatly filed away in my music category.

This week, my selections feature the 60s progressive British rockers, Procol Harum, and the 90s German / L.A. based Sweetbox project… spotlighting rapper, Tina Harris. These recording artists turned in peak performances while “sampling” the works of Johann Sebastian Bach. Oh btw, the Procol Harum headline, below, is a link… that’s to afford you the opportunity to hear the band performing, “live”, alongside a full symphony orchestra and choir.

And that’ll just about do it for the “in depth” musical analysis since my Four-Play focus is more about the pure enjoyment of great music.

While I acknowledge it’s nearly impossible to please all the people all the time, I’d also encourage everyone to be musically adventurous… to trade off marching in lockstep for marching to the beat of a different drum.

“Still not my ‘cup of tea,’” you say? Not to worry. You never can tell what you’ll be hearing, here, next Sunday… so do click back at that time.

Blog response will act as my Arbitron / Nielsen “radio ratings”… so… if you’ve enjoyed my “show”, click that “Like” Star. Of course, comments are always welcome, too!

Sweetbox / Tina Harris ~ Everything’s Gonna Be Alright

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Air on the G” string (Suite No. 3, BWV 1068)

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Prelude No.1 in C Major, BWV 846

Procol Harum ~ Repent Walpurgis

 

