Four-Play (Week #7) (Guest DJ: Nina)

Welcome to my seventh Internet broadcast… the midpoint of my planned 13-week run. For those who’ve missed my past posts, they’re archived in my music category (btw, forgive my posting three days early… I was too thrilled to wait).

Soon after this musical blog experiment debuted, one of my followers, Nina, posted a comment where she had mentioned some of her favorite recording artists / genres. True, she had not listed more than one specific song title (Quizás, Quizás, Quizás), however, I do believe what I’ve selected, additionally, will play out well as part of the soundtrack to her life… and hopefully it will be similarly pleasing to my other listeners, too.

While auditioning this week’s tracks, I couldn’t help but notice how violins (and their synth equivalents) were oft in play… how the mood they’ve established does work well… if you’ll excuse the wordplay… to neatly string everything together.

One other noteworthy tidbit… his time around… Four-Play… correction… Five-Play features a bonus track… a heavy metal, take no prisoners, blow the roof off the dump, guitar/violin battle where nobody loses and everybody emerges gloriously victorious.

That duly noted… this should just about do it for the “in depth” musical analysis. After all, my Four-Play Five-Play focus, as always, is more about the pure enjoyment of great music.

While I’ll readily admit it’s nearly impossible to please all the people all the time, I’d also encourage my listeners to be musically adventurous… to trade off marching in lockstep for marching to the beat of a different drum.

“Still not my ‘cup of tea,’” you say? Not to worry. You never can tell what you’ll be hearing, here, each time Four-Play hits the Internet… so be sure to click back here on Sunday, August the 14th.

Blog response will act as my Arbitron / Nielsen “radio ratings”… so… if you’ve enjoyed my “show”, click that “Like” Star. Of course, comments (perhaps… perhaps… perhaps… inclusive of your song / artist / genre requests) are always welcome, too!

P.S. I’m dedicating this week’s program to Nina, my way of extending my mega thanks to her for expanding my own musical horizons as well as those of our other WordPress followers and visitors. She not only has an adventurous ear for superb music but also excels at inventive, intriguing drawing, imaginative writing and informative, innovative blogging. Ergo… I encourage you to check out Nina’s Website!

 

Madonna ~ Frozen

Jean Michel Jarre ~ Oxygene VI

Nina Voz ~ Quizás, Quizás, Quizás

Michael Jackson ~ Earth Song

BONUS TRACK: Charlie Parra del Riego (guitar) Faridde Caparó (violin)

~ Guitar vs. Violin – A heavy metal battle!!!

 

