Music to Soothe a Savage Breast (October Blogcast)

 

William Congreve’s oft quoted (1697) sentiment, “Music hath charms to soothe a savage breast, to soften rocks, or bend a knotted oak” has never been more relevant… has never been a more appropriate Rx… considering how my homeland, America… indeed, our entire savage world… is what’s aggravating and ailing us.

Since our global society appears to be dangling by a fragile thread over the abyss of chronic, debilitating madness… since we oft have little choice but to overstay these dismal societal and political landscapes… it’s not unusual for despair to set in… and our blogs to mirror that sorrow.

Lately, I’ve been reaching my breaking point. Feeling indescribably powerless, I’ll logout from WordPress, power down my computer/modem, sit down at my piano and lose myself in “my” music… as was the case at daybreak this first Saturday in October.

I soon found myself playing four compositions, all in the Eb key signature… and I’m certain were “Doctor” Congreve alive today, he’d have approved my therapeutic playlist.

Since it’s possible that you, too, have been feeling upset about our world gone berserk, I now share this restorative music with you, in hopes these songs will instill within you a similar, calmative effect.

 

Paul McCartney & Wings ~ The Long & Winding Road

Elton John ~ Your Song

Gabriella Quevedo ~ Your Song (Guitar Cover)

Vanessa Williams ~ Save The Best For Last

Alan Parsons Project ~ Time

Musical Sidebar ~ It’s now been two weeks since I cancelled my weekly Four-Play blogcasts (still archived in my music category) due to Internet surfers’ insufficient interest. Rethinking that, I’ve now decided to Blogcast once per month.

So… if you’ve enjoyed what you’ve heard, click that “LIKE” star (perhaps comment, too?) and meet me back here for my November 1st Blogcast.

