An Error Occurred… Please Try Later?

 

Within the track, Territorial Pissings, Nirvana’s Kurt Cobain once lyrically rehashed that old hippie era saying…

“Just because you’re paranoid don’t mean they’re not after you!”

Nevertheless… it’s possible that I’m in that state of mind. Or am I?

I’m now reclining on the virtual couch and ask WordPress readers, followers and shrinks to psychoanalyze me. I mean…

It might be nothing at all… YET

It might be every freedom lover’s worst nightmare come true!

My troubles began, recently, while visiting YouTube. Upon clicking onto a video recommended right on their homepage menu, everything began as expected. However, as soon as the lead-in commercial finished, a black screen with this message (in white font) appeared…

An Error Occurred. Please Try Later.

Since I really wanted to view my selection, I copied its code and exited YouTube. My plan was to see what would happen if I pasted that code directly into the new address bar of my browser. Guess What?

I promptly got the exact same runaround.

How odd, indeed! Why did the advertisement play and not the video? My growing suspicion… capitalism usually trumps freedom of speech… but I digress…

So, let’s say the lack of playback could be traced to something readily explainable… oh… say… that the YouTuber (maybe even YouTube muckymucks, themselves) had, out of fear, yanked this video? But if that were the case, why the hell did it still appear as a homepage recommendation?

Not being someone who’ll ever take any crap from any artificial intelligence I tried again, this time using an alternative browser.

Guess what? This time, that VERY SAME video played back WITHOUT A HITCH!!!

In the days ahead I opted, once again, to try this BLOCKED browser to revisit YouTube. You guessed it… many videos would not play. Suddenly, I realized a distinct pattern was developing.

I could not view was NOT ALLOWED to view many of the videos presenting politically liberal content… especially offerings, which portray America’s soon to be installed régime in any unfavorable manner.

In utter disbelief, I chastised myself thusly…

“This cannot possibly be happening… you’re just being paranoid! It still might merely be some bizarre, isolated problem unique to your aged computer.”

At that point I ran an experiment. Tried my damnedest to debunk this suspected censorship.

Lo and behold, while continuing to use this BLOCKED browser, I SUCCESSFULLY viewed every non-politically themed YouTube video I clicked onto.

Now, here’s the real kicker… I could easily watch every rightwing whack-a-doodle’s video, which ignorantly and inordinately extols America’s soon to be installed régime.

Keeping all of this in mind, my questions to you…

Am I paranoid or is this browser issue an early warning sign… perhaps of something far worse? Oh… say… an Internet crash in America? I guess we’ll find out “later”… perhaps as early as next Friday… oh… say… a few hours past high noon?

 

