Six (or less) Degrees of Separation

To brag in a blog? Ugh, that’s neither my style nor intent. I only risk being perceived that way to illustrate my point. That duly noted, let’s get this blog rollin’.

I’ve recently reached that contemplative stage in my life… i.e., have become keenly aware that the temporal road behind me is far longer than what lays ahead.

Lately, my mood can best be described as that “feeling of insignificance in our universe”. Well… that is until this morning when I clicked onto a thought provoking post authored by a talented, WordPress writer, whom I follow and who follows me.

To summarize her blog, she spoke of the Six Degrees of Separation… how, this past November, she had become (justifiably) thrilled by the realization she’d just met a person who had met rock ‘n’ roll legend, Paul McCartney… i.e., she’s One Degree of Separation from having met Sir Paul.

Had she blogged further on this subject, I’m certain she’d have also mentioned that, via Two, Three (and more) Degrees of Separation, she has also met the thousands of musicians and celebrities who McCartney has met ever since his early Beatles days.

This got me to thinking. Could lil’ ol’ lowly me ever make a similar claim?

Turns out I can. Eighteen long springs ago, after I had mailed a sample of my humorous writing to the NYC based, CBS TV program, Late Show with David Letterman… I wound up conversing with one of that talk show’s writers (he had actually phoned me). That means there’s One Degree of Separation from my having met Letterman… and Two Degrees of Separation from my having met the nearly 20,000 celebs and musicians who had appeared on Dave’s show during his 33 year long reign as Late Night / Late Show host.

And since 1 of Letterman’s 20,000 guests was Paul McCartney… well… this means I’ve also met my new blogging friend, whom I cannot thank enough.1 She helped remind me that, indirectly, humankind is all interconnected. Even though the saying, “What a small world” does come to mind, we are all still part of something much bigger and that does help me put my “feeling of insignificance” into a more proper perspective.

 

1Five Degrees of Separation… if I’ve calculated correctly.

 

 

