Our Cues Are Found Where and When Least Expected

 

Writer’s / Blogger’s Block… UGH! Most of us, inclusive of yours truly, have experienced this frustration. And while WordPress does offer up Daily Prompts to help cure this problem, I’ve found that such cues can and do exist in many other settings… oft where and when least expected.

Key here is staying attuned to our surroundings… keeping all of our sensory pathways unblocked. For example…

A major heat wave (a week in advance of the summer solstice) has rendered many of us Michiganders sweltering.

Being ever mindful of methods to downsize my carbon footprint and tame my monthly electricity bills, to boot, I haven’t been running my “eons old”, energy pig AC unit. Instead, I’ve been throwing open my windows to allow the (so far) significantly lower, overnight temperatures to cool off my home.

It was those very, open windows, which prompted me to open my mind… thusly…

I awoke at daybreak to the chorus of hundreds of chirping, tweeting birds. While preparing breakfast, I watched a flock of robins hopping all over my backyard ISO their own morning meal, which prompted me to free-associate Bobby Day’s 1958 hit song, Rockin’ Robin. The robin being Michigan’s state bird, this prompted me to think about state government and then the federal government… prompting me to think about Pennsylvania Avenue’s resident, Tweeting birdbrain.

In short, that’s the lenghty creative process… the backstory to my Tweet-sized post from earlier this day… as reblogged below…

 

Tweet! Tweet!! Tweet Tweet!!!

It’d not be going out on a limb to say…

Far more pleasant and smarter sounding tweets emanate from densely leaved shade trees than from out of the dense, shady White House.

 

So, let’s recap…

A good way to overcome and avoid writer’s block is to keep all five of our sensory paths unblocked.

It works for me… hopefully you’ll be able to echo a similar sentiment.

 

 

