Message in a Bottle

 

John Donne (1572-1631) once said, “No man is an island.” Indeed, it is damned near impossible for humans to thrive when isolated from one another.

Since it’s inception, our worldwide web’s ability to draw humanity closer together has been nothing short of a miracle. And I wholeheartedly ditto such sentiments when describing the intriguing and extraordinary experience of my blogging here @WordPress.

Each and every time each of us clicks that azure “publish button”, our thoughts instantaneously rush outward, all across our global social network. We’re potentially touching the minds, hearts and souls of our followers as well as the folks who we’ve yet to meet.

As most of us would concur, some of our followers wind up being causal acquaintances while others, in time, may even drift off… to never pass our way again… two ships that pass in the night as it were. Only those of us who wind up mind melding with a kindred spirit or two can truly claim our lives have been enriched… (or for the religiously minded) perhaps even blessed.

Until such virtual meetings occur, what are we bloggers but castaways all… shipwrecked and stranded on our small, uncharted virtual islands… each of us repeatedly tossing our proverbial message in a bottle onto the vast, azure ocean… fully knowing the odds are slim to none that anyone will ever find and read our words… yet still feeling that glimmer of hope that someone, someday, will come to our rescue.

Such rescues begin every time we train our “spyglasses” onto that “little red dot” in the upper right hand corner of our screens. We can take comfort… perhaps even feel jubilation that someone is responding… be it with their LIKE… be it with their FOLLOW.

That on-top-of-the-world moment is akin to seeing the tall ship appearing over the horizon… it’s billowing white sails fluttering in the tropical breezes.

As I frantically wave to you, aboard your approaching virtual vessels, I want to shout out my heartfelt gratitude to everyone who has ever reacted to my posts with a LIKE and/or a FOLLOW! Each time this obscure blogger / castaway, lost in the vast sea of humanity, receives such responses to my tossed “message in a bottle” I do feel rescued.

Now, to momentarily set aside all metaphors… I find such input invaluable in helping me figure out what subject matter most interests you. After all, consistently presenting good quality blog content is the best way for any blogger to build and retain one’s following. Without your help, how could I ever expect to become a better blogger?

On a technical note, those of you, who arrive at my site’s homepage won’t automatically be finding any LIKE buttons and comment boxes unless you first click onto each of my blog titles. BUT…

It’s most important that you NEVER, EVER feel any sense of obligation to click any LIKE, or worse yet, do so out of pity. Your honest reaction is paramount, here, so click LIKE ONLY if you’ve really, Really, REALLY found my blogs elevating, enlightening, entertaining and/or enjoyable.

To keep it entirely real… I am neither God’s gift to the blogosphere nor do I ever expect to be. But… with your help, I just might become a wee bit better?

 

 

